CISSP: What Is It and How Do I Get Certified?


Last Updated on March 26, 2022 by Team Experts

If you’re in the running for becoming a certified information systems security professional, you’ll find out all about the certification process and what it takes to succeed in this job. This course covers everything from what is needed to maintain the CISM certification, who can get it, to how much training can be completed online.

Information security involves physical, technical, and managerial controls used to protect information from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption or modification. In order to help you become a Certified Information Systems Security Professional in your own right, this article breaks down what an Information Security Professional is and how the certification process works.

What is a Certified Information Systems Security Professional?

A Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is a person who has been certified as competent in computer security. This certification is often sought by employers, especially those in fields that involve information security such as cyber security, information assurance, and information technology management.

A Certified Information Systems Security Professional is a professional that has passed the CISSP examination. This certification is given by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2 which is responsible for developing, maintaining and overseeing the CISSP standard of education and experience. The certification indicates that a person has met their education and experience requirements to qualify as an information systems security professional based on the criteria outlined by ISC2.

Why should I get certified?

The CISSP certification is a globally recognized certifications that can help a person maintain their IT security certification and progress in their field. It’s one of the most respected and recognized certifications in this industry. Since it’s given by an independent organization, not any one company, there are no limitations on where they can work or how many hours they can work.

The CISSP is the highest level security certification an IT professional can obtain. The CISSP certification denotes that the holder has a thorough knowledge of information systems and their security. With this knowledge, they will be able to guide companies through the process of ensuring their computer systems are secure.

How to become certified

To become certified, you must complete a program that takes approximately 36-72 hours. Once you have successfully completed the program, you will need to pass a challenging exam which can be taken in 4 different ways:

A Certified Information Systems Security Professional, or CISSP, is an individual who has had extensive education and work experience in information security. The certification is a benchmark that can serve as an indicator of the knowledge and skills possessed by an individual to prevent and mitigate potentially harmful computer related activities. This job qualification will help you understand the breadth of security issues and how they are managed.

Exam information

Information systems security professionals must go through a certification process in order to show their competency in the field. This is done by first taking an exam that covers topics like information systems, cryptography, and computer security. The exam gives the individual some experience with these topics before they take a full certification test. After completing this test and passing it, the individual is then allowed to use the title of Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).


There are many different ways to obtain certification. There is an exam with a fee, online courses, and even self-study. The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification is the highest level of information assurance and information security that an individual can achieve. The CISSP is considered the “fifth domain” and most prestigious in IT, after the four previously mentioned levels: system administrator, network administrator, database administrator, and information assurance officer. To earn this certification from SANS Institute, individuals undergo rigorous training which includes theoretical and practical exams with a cumulative score of 900+ points.

Read more: Top 8 To Prepare For Cisco CCNA Certification Examination


Subscribe Now!

Get the latest Tech info straight to your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Spread the love

Anil is an enthusiastic, self-motivated, reliable person who is a Technology evangelist. He's always been fascinated at work especially at innovation that causes benefit to the students, working professionals or the companies. Being unique and thinking Innovative is what he loves the most, supporting his thoughts he will be ahead for any change valuing social responsibility with a reprising innovation. His interest in various fields and the urge to explore, led him to find places to put himself to work and design things than just learning. Follow him on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *